The Tunnel Home

O.k my first daily prompt/post/challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/tunnel-vision/

Tunnel Vision

You’ve been given the ability to build a magical tunnel that will quickly and secretly connect your home with the location of your choice — anywhere on Earth. Where’s the other end of your tunnel?tunnel 2

My first thought about this is my tunnel would lead me back to where I am because I always feel that I am where I need to be. There is nothing in the world more important than where you are now. It’s now that is important, it’s here and now that decides where you are going to end up. 

I’ve always heard friends of mine wishing to be somewhere else, this is a concept that I have never really understood. Most of the times I have heard this it is people wishing for a better life somewhere else or people trying to run away from something.

Running away from a problem that has been manufactured in your head is pointless… you take your head everywhere.

So my magical tunnel. It would take me all over the world, through every mountain range and under every sea but it would always lead back home. Back to the point at which it started.

BUT…tunnel 1

It would be made of glass. I would be able to see every possible place it could take me. I could imagine myself on the other side of the glass but never actually be there. I could imagine deep sea diving or climbing the highest point the Earth had to offer. Dancing in monsoon season in a far off continent or sitting reading a letter from a loved one in a place we found together and it will forever be ours.

I would be able to see and imagine every possibility. In my head I would stride from parallel to parallel enjoying everything I could picture myself doing and having. But I would always end up home.

I would end up home having seen where I could be. Because home is the place I have to leave to get there.  

 download

14 thoughts on “The Tunnel Home

      1. You included the link which is fine, but you can also link just by highlighting a word like ‘tunnel’ and doing it like you did before when linking to my post… Either way is fine…

  1. Great post, a very different way to look at the concept. I think mine would lead me to various locations at different times just as the perfect conditions/lighting for amazing photography materialises,

Leave a Reply

