RELATIONSHIP STATUS

12 months being single, a year in review.

The last relationship I was in came to an end almost exactly a year ago. I had spent the year previous to thgogpat relationship single also but I hadn’t learnt anything about myself. I hadn’t in that year got over the previous girlfriend so I should never have moved on to another. So I was potentially facing the last break up with horrible memories of the one before as well.
12 months ago I vowed not to make that mistake again. I didn’t have the energy to deal with everything I had done wrong with ghosts of girlfriends past all at the same time, during one big kitchen floor reset. This is when you find yourself uncontrollably crying whilst sitting on a cold kitchen floor gazing at an open fridge packed full of single man food and alcohol.BeerFridge

Everything after a break up becomes a challenge, you’ve forgotten who you are or were, the simplest things you’ve been doing for years suddenly reflect differently.

The first few sessions of self pleasure are particularly difficult, it’s entirely possible to cry during masturbation. In fact after a particularly bad break up it can be a real tear jerker!

So what to do… Spend a year avoiding any intimate meetings. Believe it or not I’ve had a few dates. Which by the time things had started going really well I sabotage it by calling it a night and ending the evening with a firm handshake and a thank you. And if I’m honest, and I am, I have never been happier. I feel like I’ve let everything go. From the previous two relationships to the last ten years of being a bit of a dog of a man. It’s really cleansing for the soul. If I have one that is. Sometimes even I’m not sure.

‘When is the right time to break-up with yourself’?

I have no idea. Do I like being my own significantย other to much? So much so that I disregard perfectly good dating options. It’s always possible.
Hell I’m not even sure what women are looking for nowadays. And even if I found out, I guarantee I’d be to stubborn to change myself for it.

Women love men with a sense of humor. It’s just a shame for me that a lot of women find half a million pound in the bank really funny.

No I think what I’ll do is just sit and patiently wait. I’m really happy with the way things are going at the moment. I see no need to break up with myself.

It’s going to take a pretty amazing woman to come between me and myself.download (1)

22 thoughts on “RELATIONSHIP STATUS

  1. Congratulations and continued success! I myself am 25 years divorced and no plans to breakup with myself. I like the twist. Of course I have been married three times, lived with a few of girls/ladies, have been engaged more times than I should have been, and to be honest I was just really bad at being married. But life is really good.

  2. Wise woman psychic here – I found Mr. Perfect while still married to someone in a memory care unit at a nursing home, sitting in a wheelchair and unable to recognize me or even where he is. Mr. Perfect didn’t think I was ridiculous – he just thought he’d been looking for me forever. I was in the depths of complete non-living. Not doing anything but busy work – trying to keep sane. I didn’t have a good marriage – no I had a bad marriage – and so cutting it loose wasn’t a problem for me. I won’t abandon him now because I am it for him. He has no one else and somebody’s got to make sure he’s taken care of properly until he dies, which is coming very quickly. He can’t move or hardly swallow, etc.
    This is a long comment – and what I mean is – those relationships that didn’t work out were WAY WRONG for you. So you didn’t do anything bad, it wasn’t the right one. It will be and you both will know immediately and all past everything will be wiped clean out of your memory. Totally. All the pain, everything ………….. it feels so good. ๐Ÿ™‚

      1. I cannot tell you how in love I am or how connected we are – it’s bizarre. And I never thought I’d find it ever. And you will too I just know it. In my tiny little third eye I know it.

  3. Sometimes I’m afraid that part of my life is over. Guys seem to have more negatives than positives. If you don’t want it to be over for you, I hope it isn’t. I love the quote from Eat Pray Love: “Balance, my darling, is not letting anyone love you less than you love yourself.”

      1. I hope she finds you! I should have written: “Guys in my area” and not the blanket statement that I did. I am in the south in the U.S. Things are probably much better where you and Suzie are. ๐Ÿ™‚

      2. I’m replying to your “No, probably not lol.” comment here because there isn’t a “reply” option there.

        So, not a lot of William Thacker’s there, huh? (Hugh Grant’s character in “Notting Hill”) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. My last relationship ended in the run up to Christmas 2011 and having jumped into that one straight after a break-up I decided that this time I was going to take some ‘me’ time. Almost 3 years on I am the happiest I have ever been, I love being single. I can do what I want, go where I want etc without any restrictions or someone else moaning that they’d rather go somewhere else/do something else (or in one ex’s case, not go anywhere or do anything).

    1. Being happy with yourself is the best thing ever. How can anyone be happy with you or you be happy with someone else if you aren’t happy on your own in the first place.

Leave a Reply

