Love me fear me and i will be your slave.

Fourth Wall

You get to spend a day inside your favorite movie. Tell us which one it is — and what happens to you while you’re there.

I don’t like to pick a movie to call ‘my favourite’ but…

‘You remind me of the babe’.

(Everybody join in)

Labyrinth-1986. A story about a 15 year old girl Sarah (Jennifer Connelly) who wishes that her younger brother, Toby, would get taken away by the Goblin King (David Bowie). When she regrets this wish the Goblin King gives her thirteen hours in which to solve the Labyrinth or else the younger brother will become a permanent member of the Goblin City.

I was five when this movie came out, so by the time it had made it to television I was old enough for it to become one of my favourite childhood memories. A memory that has stayed with me all of my life. I can pretty much quote this movie word for word, as many of my friends can. Every line, every song and all with impersonations of the characters.

First thing I would do if I was in the Labyrinth is accept the invitation to “come in and have a cup of tea”.

images (1)

This little guy is possibly my favourite worm ever!

The Worm: ‘Allo.

Sarah: Did you say… hello?

The Worm: No, I said “‘allo,” but that’s close enough.

Sarah: Oh… you’re a worm, aren’t you?

The Worm: Yeah, that’s right.

Sarah: You don’t by any chance know the way through this labyrinth, do you?

The Worm: Who, me? No, I’m just a worm. Say, come inside, and meet the missus.

After a nice cup of tea with the worm and his wife I would start trying to work out the ‘Liar downloadParadox’. 

There was one time, one glorious afternoon not so long ago, where I had actually worked it out. I’ve looked into this on several occasions and can’t help but think I’m over thinking the whole thing. But, there was a once and it was a good once.

I would spend more than 13hours going around the Labyrinth, I’d probably spend quite a few days there. I’d want at least a day hanging out with my favourite inhabitants.

  1. download (1)This guy. Sir Didymus,
  2. images (2)This Guy. Hoggle. I’d like to go drinking with this guy.
  3. images (3)This guy. He just wants to be your friend.
  4. WisemanAh the conversation guy.

But then a party with images (4) 

Ultimately though you would end up meeting and falling in love with Jareth, The Goblin King. Hell even I’d would fall for that guy. I love David Bowie anyway, I was lucky enough to see him perform at Glastonbury Festival in 2000. He was absolutely amazing! Every year Glastonbury is on I don’t watch the live coverage I opt for Youtube and watch back that performance from 2000.

download (2)
images (5)download (3)


And one final time…

You remind me of the babe
(What babe?)
Babe with the power
(What power?)
Power of Voodoo
(Who do?)
You do
(Do what?)
Remind me of the babe

I saw my baby, crying hard as babe could cry
What could I do?
My baby’s love had gone
And left my baby blue
Nobody knew

What kind of magic spell to use
Slime and snails

Or puppy dog tails

Thunder or lightning

Then baby said……
Dance magic, dance (dance magic, dance)
Dance magic, dance (dance magic, dance)
Put that baby spell on me
Jump magic, jump (jump magic, jump)
Jump magic, jump (jump magic, jump)
Put that magic jump on me
Slap that baby, make him free

I saw my baby, trying hard as babe could try
What could I do?
My baby’s fun had gone
And left my baby blue
Nobody knew

What kind of magic spell to use
Slime and snails
Puppy dog’s tails
Thunder or lightning
Then baby said….

Dance magic, dance (dance magic, dance)
Dance magic, dance (dance magic, dance)
Put that baby spell on me

Jump magic, jump (jump magic, jump)
Jump magic, jump (jump magic, jump)
Put that magic jump on me
Slap that baby, make him free

4 thoughts on “Love me fear me and i will be your slave.

  1. I’ve been trying to recall the movies I’ve seen, particularly fantasy movies like the one you posted about: Willie Wonka, Wizard of Oz, Water World, etc. but I would not wish to visit them – those I recall seeing anyway. This is going to be a boring comment, esp. to an English guy, but I guess I would like to visit a film set in a castle in England and explore secret passages, gardens, and languish about. I thought about Cinderella where the heroine is rescued from dysfunction by a prince or maybe a movie where I am member of a healthy functional family, but I don’t recall a title. And probably what will happen is that as soon as I press “post comment” I will remember a splendid example.

    This is a nice post. It made me think. Thanks!

    1. Thank you. It wouldn’t be boring to an English guy to imagine visiting a castle. We don’t all live in one lol.
      The thing with Cinderella is she didn’t want all of that with the prince and the castle, she just wanted a day off.

  2. So true re: Cinderella. They say that’s when IT happens, when you are not looking. (Like you, with ‘you know who’, maybe? I truly believe there are no accidents/no coincidences.) And also good to know that an English man doesn’t find the thought of visiting an English castle boring.

Leave a Reply

