Thanks but I don’t do Christmas.

Firstly, I AM NOT A SCROOGE! I AM NOT THE GRINCH!

I am however in the bar trade and whilst everyone is breaking up early enjoying their Christmas holidays I am in the middle of the busiest period of the year. I am currently counting today as my only full day off in two weeks. Now please don’t get me wrong, I am not bitter about my career choice and I am certainly not blaming my career choice for my lack of Christmas cheer. However it is more difficult for me to ‘enjoy the season’ in the same way that everybody else seems to.
In all fairness even if I were not in this trade I highly doubt I would enjoy Christmas. The symbolism and religious ideals behind the whole holiday means very little to me. I am in no way religious and therefore feel like a bit of a sham by celebrating the birth of Jesus. The idea of gift giving is lovely, especially if you are the one receiving the gifts, however this practice could be done at any time of year. I am a big fan of the gift that comes with the note ‘I saw this and thought of you’.

Last year was the first time I had ever done anything different for Christmas Day. Normally it would involve a very long day from the end of work Christmas Eve night to the early morning travel on Christmas day to get to my family home.
I didn’t do this last year, instead I volunteered to cat sit for a friend for a couple of days.
Last Christmas Day was the best Christmas I can ever remember having and because I was staying at a house that wasn’t my own it felt like a complete holiday, even though it was only a couple of days.
I woke up early to feed and inject a cat. One of three cats was diabetic and needed injections at 5am and 5pm. Because of the timings and myself being quite lazy on the one day I’m allowed to be led me to not do anything that day. I had a supply of alcohol and food and saw no need to go anywhere or see anyone.
I had a nap until midday, watched some Christmas films and the Queens speech (something which someone always talks over at my family home) I then had a nice relaxing bath and went for a Christmas walk. I have never been ftardis chror a Christmas walk before and I can tell you I found it to be one of the most pleasant things I have ever done. On my walk I found a shop and a pizza shop that was open. I brought myself a big box of chocolates and a big chicken and sweetcorn pizza. Went back to the house I was staying in and settled down to watch the Doctor Who Christmas special. Which lets face it, is the true meaning of Christmas.

I did not have one sip of alcohol for the entire day. I didn’t need to, I had never before experienced a day that was so completely fulfilling. I was so incredibly relaxed I could hardly believe it.
And the best part of this whole day?
Nobody disturbed me. A couple of early morning texts, one early morning call and the world was done with me. Everybody had things to do which allowed me to do nothing at all.

This year I plan almost exactly the same. I will be cat sitting with the only interruption being work on Christmas night. It’s only a few hours and I think that even I can muster enough energy to smile through a few hours of other peoples drunken cheer.

The family side of Christmas for me was done today. I visited my family and got all my presents. Do I feel bad that I didn’t give anything in return? Well, no. No I did not, I will gift things to my family when I choose to. Probably just after the January sales but more probably when I have time off work to actually go shopping.

So from me there is no “Bah Humbug” there is no “Merry Christmas”. There is however my best wishes to everybody and whatever it is you choose to do over these next few days may it be exactly as you want it to be.

all the best

And remember there’s only a short amount of time before the “New Year New Me” status updates and intents.

All the best.

10402722_10152494931071437_7404826669358808791_n
This is my ‘Excited, forced to wear a Christmas jumper face’
10 thoughts on “Thanks but I don’t do Christmas.

  1. Paul, some of my best Christmases have been spent with either just me or me and partner. Perfect, no having to get up early, no having to get dressed, no having to eat lunch at a certain time but, best of all, no one to interrupt me watching Dr.Who!

    Merry Christmas.

  2. Also skipping xmas this year withy my partner. We tried to keep up with the presents for everybody, dress up and eat at 2PM (which is just wrong if you’ve just woken up) . This year didn’t do any of the madness shopping- like none… I will cook dinner when I want and enjoy the days off work. It’s holidays, so spending them like a holiday is exactly what we’re doing. 🙂

    Enjoy the peace! 🙂

Leave a Reply

