#TuesdayTattle My afternoon off with Jon Pertwee

IMG_6053

I’ve been looking forward to today for what seems like months. It marks the start of my new work rota whereby I get two days off in a row. It looks as though it will, for the foreseeable future, be Tuesdays and Wednesdays off from now on.
This is why I decided to start my #TuesdayTattle. It allows me to sit in the comfort of my home with the fire on to keep warm whilst all day I focus on being chilled. Being ‘chilled’ for me means being able to unload my mind and clear out a weeks worth of stress.
Today I am choosing to do this by eating and remembering.
The eating came in the form of making myself a full English breakfast. A breakfast which I have just finished and feel quite wonderful about.

The remembering, 

Doctor Who and The Sea Devils.
In the serial, the Doctor (Jon Pertwee) and his assistant Jo Grant (Katy Manning) visit the Doctor’s nemesis the Master(Roger Delgado) in his island prison and encounter the Sea Devils, the aquatic cousins of the Silurians.


From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I have mentioned in previous texts that my love for Doctor Who came from watching repeats as a child with my father. He was in his early 20’s when my parents had me, I was lucky enough then to be born right at the point where my dad was still quite geeky. By the time my two brothers came along he had left Sci-fi behind and seemed to just focus on watching football, something which I have no love for at all.
But still, lucky for me I had the first few years of sci-fi shows with him. The first Doctor Who episode I remember as a child was Doctor Who and The Sea Devils. Jon Pertwee (the 3rd Doctor) was my first Doctor. My first Doctor was on television a full ten years before I was born or even thought of. But that’s Doctor Who for you… “wibbly wobbly timey wimey”.

download (1)

I am massively enjoying this afternoons choice of television. It may well be nostalgia but come on it’s Doctor Who, time has no meaning here.

Leave a Reply

