#TuesdayTattle – Tat Tattle

Tattling Tats

So last Tuesday I spoke about how I was debating with myself about getting a tattoo. I’ve wanted one since I was a teenager but had always said that I would wait until I was in my 30’s.

I am now 33 and the desire was still there.
I’d pretty much decided the design that I wanted- ‘The Mark Of Cain‘- Supernatural fans will know this mark and what it represents.

To me it represents self control. I have a ‘dark side’ as do many people. I can be vicious, I can be nasty and I can be very short tempered. The ‘mark’ to me represents my self control over such feelings and actions.
So last Tuesday I used a marker pen and drew a rough version to see if I’d actually be happy having this permanent pigment. I was. And so this morning I woke up and went to the tattoo shop.

The result is this…

IMG_6271

I am very happy with the way it turned out. I was even more happy that the pain I was expecting wasn’t as bad as I had thought it would be. I didn’t pass out, I didn’t cry and I didn’t throw up. I’m taking that as a bonus.

Will I get another tattoo?
Well I don’t know. I have a few ideas for designs that I want, designs that mean something to me. But I am giving it time.
It did take me roughly 20years to decide to get a single tattoo. So if I do get another one… time will tell.

Now I’m ‘in the club’ please feel free to share your tattoos with me and (I think) more importantly, what they mean to you.

I’m also on Twitter so please feel free to share your art using #TuesdayTattle. I’d love some more ideas/inspiration.

7 thoughts on “#TuesdayTattle – Tat Tattle

  1. Fantastic! Congrats on the tat! 🙂 Looks good…

    I have an eye on my shoulder with text “observer” and in the eye’s pupil it has a 5pointed star (pointed down). It’s my own design I doodled while reading and it sums me up pretty good. Since I always stare people it made sense to have “eyes” on my back as well, at the same time it shows I can be a bit paranoid and mistrusting so the eye on the back is also like protection and the pentagram represents my very own “dark side” 😀

    1. Nice, when I was in the shop today I was looking at all the designs up all around the walls. I don’t know how people can have a tattoo by just ‘picking one’.
      I’m glad I found something that means something to me. Just as your design does to you.

  2. I got my first tattoo when I was 21, a small-ish purple & gold Maltese cross on my right shoulder blade, then at 29 I got my 2nd which is a ‘vine’ of stylised poppies with my stepkids names top and bottom on my my right calf. I have a few others planned but need funds and to fully settle on the designs.

    Can’t figure how to post pics in a comment :/

Leave a Reply

