Taking a chance

Sometimes you just have to.
Today I did.
Today I have applied for two jobs.

Two jobs that for several reasons seem to be just what I’d like to be doing right now.
In some ways a step backwards career wise.

But that just depends on your outlook.

The first…
Doctor toy shop

Yes I have applied to work in a toy shop.
Because, well, it’s a toyshop. It was good enough for The Doctor once so it’s more than good enough for me.
No but really, a toyshop, what a fantastic idea. I would absolutely love this job.

The Second…
doctor cinema

I have also in an inspirational moment applied to work in a cinema.
I love the cinema, I haven’t been for a very long while now but the cinema I’ve applied for is one that I have not been in for about 20 years. It’s the most local cinema to where I grew up and is one of the oldest in the country. If I’m estimating right the last film I saw there was Die Hard with a vengeance (I’m told that was about 20 years ago even though I still refuse to believe that 1995 was more than 10 years ago).

The thing is these are two jobs that as a adult child I would absolutely love to be doing. It’s a slight change of career but maybe that’s just what I need.
I’m good at what I do, in fact I’m damn good at what I do but that just means I’m stuck in a comfort zone.
‘Nothing ever grows in the comfort zone’ is a quote I saw someone post on Facebook only yesterday and it really did stand out to me. Maybe my way of looking at things is changing.
Sure it won’t be easy changing careers, there may well be a few hard financial times, there may well be a few stressful times but in the end I’m sure it’ll all be worth it. Plus imagine my joy if I end up getting free cinema tickets or a 20% discount on collectables (collectables being the adult word for toys).

Neither of these two jobs could get back to me, I could fail at interviews, who knows?
But for now…

For today I can imagine, I can dream.

Any job offers in my local area however please let me know via MrPolly
In the mean time I will be dreaming of working in a toy shop and having a pleasant life.

 

7 thoughts on “Taking a chance

  1. Was a bit surprised that you live in the Midlands. For some reason I had automatically assumed you were in the US. I’m also in the West Midlands area. Sadly I don’t know anyone who runs a toy shop. I have always dreamed of running an old fashioned cinema. If I ever win the lottery and get the money to build it, I’ll be right back!

    Meanwhile, the very best of luck! You sound like a wonderful, interesting person and I hope you find what you are looking for 🙂 Mir xx

    1. Birmingham boy me. Where about are you?
      Thanks for the message. Always nice to read a nice message after four hours sleep and another full day at work. Good luck with that lotto win, let me know if it happens 🙂

      1. I’m just (a mile or so) beyond the Birmingham border in the south :). I figure the universe owes me a favour or two, so surely a lotto win isn’t out of the question 🙂

Leave a Reply

