My opinions are my opinions

One of the things I like about working in a pub is certain topics, in my opinion, should be no where near a beer glass. One of these subjects is politics.
Unfortunately the recent events in the world have got everybody thinking, they’ve got everybody talking.
Unfortunately, while everyone is entitled to an opinion, I don’t believe everyone should share their opinion. After the tragic weekend in Paris my Facebook feed was filled with opinions. Facebook is a great way for us to share our lives with other people but I have found that after a greatly emotional and terrifying tragedy it seemed as though all of my Facebook ‘friends’ had a point of view, had something to say.

Frankly I was disgusted by the lack of understanding some of those people I call ‘friends’  shared. They was of course many ‘prayers’ and messages of sadness posted within the first few hours of the news broadcasting the Paris attacks. But this very quickly became an ignorant and frankly very idiotic space in which the outdated views of ‘send them back’, ‘ban the Burka’ and the typically anti-Muslim vibe that ignorant people cling on to.
I didn’t change my profile picture to include the colours of the French flag. I understand the feelings behind it. I understand the unity but I’d rather keep my emotions on the subject to myself. As nobody has asked how this event has affected me, nobody cares if I feel sad, nobody will feel better for seeing my face adorned with blue, white and red.  Instead by the end of the weekend and reading other peoples opinions I shared my own:

“Apathetic definition, having or showing little or no emotion:
When the world crumbles into one of two generic Facebook posts, one of disgust and one of support, the apathetic man will reign and the problems of the world will seem easy to solve”

Thinking that this would be the end to my contribution to opinions shared I took myself to sleep.
Upon waking the first piece of information I was confronted with was more news reports. Well of course this will be talked about for many years to come, first thing in the morning I found myself watching and getting quite emotional at the stories that were coming out of Paris and even by the unification of the world in displaying the colours of the French flag. Even though I had not, I found it quite moving. But this wasn’t something that I would have wanted for myself, I keep my emotions to myself I always have, tried to anyway,
Then came about Monday afternoon at work, at work in a pub. A place that I normally have no conversations about world issues and politics. But this Monday was quite different. I found myself in an intelligent conversation with another gent who had taken his emotions out of his point of view.
I then typed on my phone, I had finally spoken with someone who was interested in conversing about the world issues everyone else was shouting about.
Here’s what I wrote, it may make no sense but the notes section on my phone helped me unload the thoughts on my mind.

“War time Young men are being drafted into groups, armies if you will, to perform the attacks of foot soldiers. The first and most expendable line of offence or defence. These men gladly give there lives for something that they have been taught to believe in. Rightly or wrongly they follow what they believe, rarely asking the questions as to why they must cause harm or death. Or why they are defending this act with their own lives.

We look at these young men as the enemy. If we are on the ‘other side’.
We look at these young men as heroes or martyrs. If we are on ‘the same side’.

We celebrate these young men, we celebrate the acts of war they committed in the name of what they believe in.  We do this every Remembrance Day, every Veterans Day.
We remember the horrors that these young men committed every Remembrance Day, every Veterans Day and every horrific anniversary.

People from different religions or regions of the world are very much the same. What differs is the education- what they are brought up believing, what they are brought up being told. At the point in which we believe we know everything we must stop and realise that we actually know nothing. We must then realise there is one world, one race, one ‘side’. “

 

Leave a Reply

